2016 A-Z Blogging Challenge – 4 April. C is for Congratulations

C 

WARNING. This bit of flash fiction is pretty dark, and it disturbed me when I was writing it. I’ve been wondering whether to put it up, but in terms of ‘near-future’ sci fi/ethics, I think it’s a valid piece.

“Congratulations, Ms Smith. A beautiful baby girl. Here.”
No.” I turn my head away. “I don’t want to hold her.”
The nurse is surprised, and I sneak just the most fleeting glance at the bundle in her arms. A pink blanket, shock of dark hair. Ten fingers and toes I expect.
And heart. And liver. And two kidneys.
Organs worth about ten grand altogether on the black market. Enough to pay off my student loan.
And this time next year? Hmmm. A new car, I think.

C pic

23 thoughts on “2016 A-Z Blogging Challenge – 4 April. C is for Congratulations

  1. That was dark and along with the image, rather jarring. But that’s what good writers do, they provoke a reaction.
    Whether dark, funny or a unexpected plot twist, you Mrs Cooper can do no wrong in my book.

    Like

  2. Morbid but interesting. Sad because people do have this mindset at times. We are willing to do so much for happiness and to get out of debt. Even sell our organs and those of ones we love.

    A little different but the amount of parents out there using their children’s SS# before they are even of age is astonishing.

    Like

  3. Wow, that was powerful. I think what makes it so is that somewhere in the world, there are people who would actually do this. Great piece
    Debbie

    Like

  4. There are things I can’t ever understand for obvious reasons, and I can’t ever understand what it might be like to have a child, or face difficult choices because of that pregnancy. That said, I really liked this, dark or otherwise. I side with Kafka on reading certain sorts of books (or writing them for that matter).

    “I think we ought to read only the kind of books that wound or stab us. If the book we’re reading doesn’t wake us up with a blow to the head, what are we reading for? So that it will make us happy, as you write? Good Lord, we would be happy precisely if we had no books, and the kind of books that make us happy are the kind we could write ourselves if we had to. But we need books that affect us like a disaster, that grieve us deeply, like the death of someone we loved more than ourselves, like being banished into forests far from everyone, like a suicide. A book must be the axe for the frozen sea within us. That is my belief.” Franz Kafka

    Like

Leave a Reply

