2016 A-Z Blogging Challenge – 1 April. A is for Always.

A So, it’s 1 April. The first day of the 2016 A-Z Blogging Challenge. I did the challenge in 2015 for the first time. I loved it, and got to know so many blogs and bloggers that I would otherwise never have stumbled across. And I’m pleased to say that a lot of them have stayed in touch. Thank you for all your comments and encouragement over the last 12 months.

This year, I’ve decided to go with a writing theme. So for the whole of April, starting with A on 1 April and ending with Z on 30 April, I’m going to be posting a piece of flash fiction each day, starting with that initial letter. 

So, here we go, with A is for Always.

Always and forever. That’s what we promised when we got married. Well, that turned out to be a bit shorter than either of us expected.
Jessica put her hand out, squeezed mine. “Are you sure you can do this?”
I look around. Take in the complete lack of options. Shrug. “I guess I’ll have to.”
She shakes her head. “You shouldn’t have to.”
I take out my stole and place it reverently around my neck. Open the door and walk slowly up the aisle. Turn to face my cheating ex-husband and the woman he left me for.
I take a deep breath. Here goes.
“Dearly beloved. We are gathered together here in the sight of God, and in the face of this Congregation, to join together this man and this woman in holy matrimony.”

A pic

This story was inspired by: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ordination_of_women

39 thoughts on “2016 A-Z Blogging Challenge – 1 April. A is for Always.

  1. yeah yeah yeah! I missed you! (not that you went anywhere, but it was me who did not write nor visit my fave blogs 😉 ) – Challenge is great! 😀

    as to the piece above – powerful and unexpected! 🙂 can’t wait for more!

    Like

  2. Ouch! Amazing start of the challenge! Short and sweet… Bitter sweet. Loved the twist! I thought of doing flash too for my first year but I jumped in late. Maybe next one and in the meantime I’ll stop by to enjoy your stories.

    Like

Leave a Reply

