100 Word Challenge for Grownups

Julia at http://www.juliasplace.org.uk gave us a gift this week with two possible prompts – Laughter and Staff Do.  I thought long and hard about trying to write light and fluffy in keeping with the Christmas season, and then thought … nah, I like writing dark. So here it is, my take on Laughter.

She shouldn’t have rented a house in the same street as a pub. But when she was desperate to get away and had no money apart from what she’d hidden from him, that’s all she could afford.

But the late night shouting, the laughter, the mess in the garden she had to cleanup every Sunday morning, was getting beyond a joke.

It was near closing time. Time to get the cat in.There could be anything in the dark.

She opened the door, just a little. Black fur appeared in the gap.

Followed by a boot.

“Missed me, Joanne?”

IMG_0077

 

10 thoughts on “100 Word Challenge for Grownups

  1. Nooooooooooooooo! I have to tell you up until that very moment I was thinking of a bar in Italy I lived above, how cold it was having only a shutter to close at night, how noisy it was that lulled me to sleep, how I knew what time it was by the number of people remaining, how peaceful the morning was as the sun rose… then the boot!!! Ha! Well done!

    Like

Leave a Reply

