100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups – Week 173

A nice prompt from Julia at http://www.juliasplace.org.uk this week that I’ve interpreted darkly, as I often do. ‘… the flames leapt skyward.’ Here’s my take:

People brought a picnic with them. They milled around, waiting. Salem had burned three witches that I could remember, and I’m only ten now. 

She was just old Mrs Groat to me. But the townsfolk must have seen something witchy about her that I didn’t. They took her, bound her, watched her. And as the flames leapt skyward, some said they heard her speak. ‘Bugger this, I’m off.’ 

Martha Gray said she saw a small black cat streak out of the pyre.

I kept quiet. Tiddles had followed me from home. 

There was a lot of ash for a witch.

  

4 thoughts on “100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups – Week 173

Leave a Reply

