100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups – Week 169

Julia at http://www.juliasplace.org.uk gave us a phrase this week  … then  in the middle of the noise …

Julia, really sorry, I had a nightmare entering the Linky, please delete those that don’t work.

Anyway, here’s my suggestion:

It was an old file. Not so much a cold case as deep-frozen. One that countless officers before me had leafed through and dismissed as unsolvable.

I’ve no idea what drew me to it. But I read the first page and … the buzz of the police station joined the pounding of my heart and rushing in my ears. A perfect storm of internal and external sound. Then, in the middle of the noise came a moment of absolute clarity. I knew who the killer was. I swallowed hard and found my voice, firm and sure.

“Boss? You’d better re-arrest my Dad. Again.”

10 thoughts on “100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups – Week 169

  1. wow 😀 powerful bit. I liked it a lot!!!!! 🙂
    but then – what’s better than a mystery, right? 😀
    seriously though – ending surprised me but also gave me the “wow” moment 🙂
    great piece!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

