100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups – Week 163

Julia at  www.juliasplace.org.uk has given us this phrase this week:

… but it was there just a moment ago…

Every day after breakfast I look in the mirror and see how much more of my face has disappeared. I know what should be there. I’ve seen this face for 40 years. One of the eyes disappeared three years ago. And last year my nose went.   

Today, my mouth is absent without leave. Lips. Gone. Teeth. Gone. 

But the voices in my head remain. They whisper sweet, convincing lies, that my features are still there. But I know better.

  

5 thoughts on “100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups – Week 163

  1. This is very dark and deep Kim. I share your wonders for folks who do suffer in this way. My post today about jigsaws is my salvation to make sure I don;t go down that path too far. Thank you so much for your support for our challenge.

    Like

Leave a Reply

