100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups – week 157

100 word challenge for grown upsI’ve just come across this, and it sounds intriguing. Thanks to Julia at https://jfb57.wordpress.com/100-word-challenge-for-grown-ups/ for this prompt, and to the Heads Office at https://theheadsoffice.co.uk/category/100-word-challenge/ for the original idea.

The idea of the challenge is that you write 100 words on the chosen theme for the week.  The  theme for week 157 is ‘At last we were free’.

AT LAST WE WERE FREE

Our escape took the length of a marriage to plan.

And just two minutes to pack for.

I took Susie and Susie took Teddy.

We slipped out the front door while Daddy was out the back. No more raised voices. No more little ‘accidents’.  No more lies at the school gate to explain the bruises.

I buckled Susie into the child seat and slid behind the wheel. Put the car in gear and checked the rear view mirror. Nothing to see. No one following. We slipped quietly into the rush hour traffic.

At last we we were free.

 

6 thoughts on “100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups – week 157

  1. Thanks Lily! I much prefer to write short than long. Could explain why the novel just isn’t moving forward like I’d like it to. *Sigh*. Still, at least the short naughty romance stories that I write keep … Er … Coming.

    Like

  2. loved the story.
    as to the challenge – that’s what I need! I’ll have to dig myself out of some dust or whatever it is that came over 😀 thanks!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Great! Fancy joining me in the 100 Word Challenge for GrownUps? I don’t know yet what Week 158’s theme will be, but I just feel that even if nothing longer comes together, that I can manage 100 words in a week.

      Like

      • oh, the theme is out there already, and YES!!! I need that challenge for sure. 😀 I tried something on my own, but did not last, photo-challenge somehow burnt out (temporarily I think because photography happens to be my other hobby 😀 ) I need a true kick! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

