Writing short and long – why does it feel so different?

After having a bit of time off from blogging after doing the April A-Z Blogging Challenge and the May NaBloPoMo one, I’m back!

The couple of weeks away from my blog has given me chance to catch up with the longer pieces of writing that I’m doing. And there’s the thing. I absolutely love writing the shorter stories (5,000-10,000 words) and even the novella wasn’t too much of a problem at 21,000 words.

So why does my first novel Born in the USA at 60,000 words feel like it’s coming together SOOOO slowly? Although I still love the story, I feel as though I’ve been wrestling it for months. At least it’s finally in an order that I’m happy with. The next task is to go through it scene by scene to see where it needs to be improved. Am I fooling myself to think I could have it finished in a year?

I fully intended on devoting all my writing attention to it this summer but somehow I’ve got sidetracked. Bad Kimberley, no chocolate. But it does mean 4 more in the Paranormal Romance That Sizzles series have been planned out, about 10,000 words each. Look out for Thera, Rex, Stella and Fleur later this year!

If you’ve got any suggestions on how to just get on with the novel, I’d love to hear from you, or if you fancy taking a look at any of the existing Paranormal Romance that Sizzles stories or the novella ‘Adventures of a Girl Death Demon’, click here. Thank you.

Have a great weekend, all. And for no particular reason other than he’s the son of a friend of mine and writes and makes fabulous music, here’s a link to my favourite song by Passenger (Mike Rosenberg). https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=InlQ-1bdCU8

4 thoughts on “Writing short and long – why does it feel so different?

  1. Getting through a whole novel can be a task. You just gotta write day after day after day until you finally come to that point where you say ‘hey, I think it’s done!’ Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

