A – Z Blogging Challenge = N is for Noddy

I know that Enid Blyton’s stories have fallen out of favour with some with accusations that there were elements that were elitist, sexist, racist and xenophobic.

I was  born in the early sixties, and grew up on a diet of Noddy, the Secret Seven, Famous Five etc. Yes, looking at them with an adult 21st century mindset, I can see things that we wouldn’t be comfortable with if the stories were written now,  but for many of us they inspired us to read, and perhaps to write. 

And having sold 600 million copies? Enid Blyton obviously appealed to a lot of people.

  

8 thoughts on “A – Z Blogging Challenge = N is for Noddy

  1. I’m unfamiliar with this author, but I think too often we throw the baby out with the bathwater with some of these older stories. Mark Twain’s Huckleberry Finn comes to mind, and more locally to me, The Egg and I by Betty MacDonald. We are all a product of our times, and times change, but I think we could use the more distasteful aspects of these books as discussion points without ignoring them altogether.

    Like

    • End Blyton is/was very English and her characters were pretty upper class, terribly well spoken etc. But I think we need to remember that much of her work was written in the 1940s when it was a very different world. Absolutely agree with your points.

      Like

  2. It’s officially the second half of A to Z. Time to catch that second wind, rest up on Sunday, then it’s that mad dash toward the finish line!

    Stephen Tremp
    A to Z Cohost
    N is for Numerology

    Like

  3. I grew up with Enid Blyton, absolutely loved her books. I didn’t/ still don’t find anything terribly objectionable in her stories. Sometimes political correctness can be carried too far, and adult hang-ups get into places where they are not required.

    Here from the A-Z.
    Best wishes for the rest of the challenge,
    Nilanjana

    Like

    • Hi Nilanjana, I too loved them. They certainly were part of my childhood and were books that I returned to time and time again when I was younger. I remember my Mum gave them away to another family when I was about 11, maybe she thought I’d outgrown them. I was so disappointed they’d gone. I’d probably have them still, otherwise. Hope the rest of the challenge goes well for you too. I’m thoroughly enjoying it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

