A – Z Blogging Challenge = B is for Books

Sometimes you read a Book and it stays with you after you’ve turned the last page or got to the final screen on Kindle.

And I read one of those yesterday. When I say yesterday I didn’t read it in one day (it took two) but I basically devoured it; a feast of words that I gobbled down until it was all gone, and still I wanted more.

It was The Shadows by J R Ward. I enjoy her writing anyway but this latest Book in the Black Dagger Brotherhood (BDB) series reached another level for me. What gripped me was the description of love set against the background of a terminal illness. Not perhaps what you’d normally consider entertainment but powerfully and beautifully written. Normally when I read a Book by an author I follow, I read it through very quickly first, and then immediately start again but more slowly, to savour it. I couldn’t do that with The Shadows, it was too intense. I’ll have to leave it for a while before I can read it again.

Another Book which had a similar effect on me was Daughter of Smoke and Bone, by Laini Taylor. Absolutely loved this, and to a lesser extent, the two which followed it. Any Book which starts ‘Once upon a time an angel and a devil fell in love. It did not end well’ has got to be worth a read.

4 thoughts on “A – Z Blogging Challenge = B is for Books

  1. I loved reading books to my children when they were small. Reading a book for my own pleasure is something I lost interest (my attention span is like a 2-year old) in after motherhood. I’m perfectly content to reading short pieces ~ magazine articles, blogs, internet research, etc. My daughters on the other had use to have a great passion for reading and do precisely as you read and re-read the same book many times over. I think it’s wonderful and honestly I wish I could do just this. Maybe one day, my brain will slow down enough to allow me this simple life enjoyment.

    Like

    • Hi Cathy, for me reading is as essential as chocolate, and that is pretty darn necessary! I certainly identify with how your daughter reads; a familiar book is like a comfy pair of slippers that you can just slip on when you don’t want to try too hard. Hope that you get back into reading when you have more time. Maybe a change in genre might suit you?

      Like

Leave a Reply

